Tags

, , , ,

At 8:30 AM, I heard those dreaded summer vacation words, “I’m bored!”  Thirty minutes into summer and already James has had enough.  He doesn’t feel like reading, watching a show with his sister, playing outside, sitting quietly in his room, napping, or eating to fill the time.  Jeff set up an old computer for James’ use, but he needs assistance with it every three minutes, so I made him turn it off.  That prompted the declaration of boredom, and also that I am mean.

Honestly, I’m bored.  I don’t want to read, watch a show with Ellie, play outside or sit quietly in my room either.  Actually, sitting quietly or napping or eating all sound pretty okay to me, but they would ruin it.  They being my kids, of course.  I have be obsessively updating Twitter and Facebook in the off chance that someone I know might have something interesting to say, but no one has helped me out there.

There is always the automatic “mother” response I could spit at him (and myself): “Clean your room.”  His room does need cleaning, as does the rest of the house, but I don’t want to do it and I’m pretty sure he doesn’t want to do it either. 

That leaves me blogging about being bored and James caving in and watching some baby show on Netflix with Ellie.  Ellie, by the way and unsurprisingly, is never bored.

