Tags

,

When we bought our current house we had one 2 and a half year old child.  Now we have three kids who are all totally mobile.  Five years ago, 1900 square feet was plenty.  We had an extra bedroom and an office and a playroom.  Now everyone has their own bedroom and the playroom has a cordoned-off area where Jeff’s desk, guitar case and amp are stored.  Not ideal.

So, we are looking for a house.  What I mean is, I check realtor.com and Zillow every thirty minutes for houses with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms with a bonus room and an office.  It’s not proving especially easy.  I have found a few houses that meet the basic criteria, only to find that I’d most likely be living next to a drug dealer or monster truck owner.  House hunting used to be fun, now it’s a chore.

We went to a few model houses last weekend.  Besides being hot and sweaty, it was discouraging.  The list prices for these houses are not even remotely how much they cost.  We were told to expect a 15-20% increase once we added all of our options.  Like walls and floors.  Helpful.  

To add to my frustration, we got a real estate agent this week.  He has sent me houses that are $25K more than we told him was our upper limit.  Thanks, dude.  Then, in retaliation for our rebuke, he sent us houses so far away it would take Jeff two hours to get home.  I’m sure we get it all worked out, but I’m not totally on-board just yet.  

I’ve been told by more than one person that it will all work out in the end.  Our house is fine for us for a while still (this is from people whose houses are 3000 square feet and no kids).  We shouldn’t settle.  Yeah, yeah, yeah. 

Then it occurs to me that these are First World Problems, a term that I’ve heard about a billion times in the last few weeks.  I know I am being very “first world” when I demand each of my kids have their own room, I have a walk-in closet, a walk-in pantry, a laundry room with cabinets and a sink, and an eat-in kitchen with a perpendicular living room.  I should be happy with what I have and stop bitching.  Everyone is healthy, mostly happy (more on that later), and wanting for nothing.  

Of course, when I put it like that, I just feel worse for being so selfish and lame.  It’s a no-win situation.  Awesome.

