Tags

, ,

So we listed our house to be sold.  It’s officially on the market.  There is a lockbox with my key in it and pictures of the inside of my pantry on the internet.  We are ready to go.

Until it is actually sold I have to keep the house basically spotless.  I remember doing that when we sold our house in Raleigh.  I had one 2-year-old boy and a full-time job.  So we weren’t home during the day and he went to bed at 7, so it was hard, but not super hard.  This time, super hard.  

Every morning before we leave to take James and Ellie to school, I put every dish in the dishwasher, make every bed, pick up every toy and clean every counter.  This may be what you do anyway, but this is not normal for me.  Usually we leave our breakfast dishes out until I get back from drop-off.  I am not really a bed maker.  Who cares about tidy beds?  Not me.  I usually do clean the counters, but not obsessively.  It’s been two days and I’m not sure I can keep this up.  The kids have been watching a lot of tv because I don’t want to clean up whatever mess they make with toys.  Let’s hope this doesn’t take too long.

This weekend we are planning on being out of the house a lot because my brother and his family are visiting and it is Jeff’s birthday on Saturday.  I am hoping it gets shown about twenty times and everyone who sees it makes us an offer over asking price.  Realistically, I know it could take weeks.  Weeks.  The thought of that sort of makes me sick to my stomach.

At the same time, we put an offer in on a short sale house.  Again, that process could take weeks.  Or not.  I’m more worried that we will have two houses than anything else.  I can’t sleep and have developed alarmingly bad skin in the last week because of the stress of it.  

All in all, buying and selling houses is just about the most stressful thing adults can do. Fortunately, our new house has a pool and stairs, which were James’ only criteria.  Knowing that I have made my son’s childhood that much better does help a bit.  Not completely, but a bit.

